Discover for yourself the rich, golden history of the Young and Harden regions.
Young and Harden share a history steeped in gold. The towns, villages and landscapes in this pocket of NSW offer an abundance of stories, stretching back to 1860 when the precious metal was first discovered at what was then known as Lambing Flat.
Along the Gold Trails of Young and Harden, visitors can explore the places where miners once staked their claims in search of alluvial gold, as well as many historically significant sites. Whether tackled by car, motor bike, bicycle or on foot, this region is an adventure back in time.
LAMBING FLAT FOLK MUSEUM
The Lambing Flat Folk Museum is the perfect start to your exploration of the Lambing Flat story. Located in the 1883 Young Public School building, the museum is a treasure trove of historical artefacts, with numerous household and farm items from the past on display. Most significantly, the museum houses the original ‘Roll-Up Banner’ that led the rioting miners march in 1861.
Located at 2 Campbell St, Young, NSW.
CHINESE TRIBUTE GARDENS, YOUNG
Close to the Lambing Flat Folk Museum are the Chinese Tribute Gardens. Established as a tribute to the Chinese miners and their contribution to Young, as well as a reminder of the inhumane treatment they endured during the Lambing Flat riots, the gardens are a beautiful and significant destination. The gardens are built around the former Chinaman’s Dam, which was built by two German brothers and sold to Chinese miners in the 1870s.
Located at 70 Pitstone Rd, Young, NSW.
BLACKGUARD GULLY, YOUNG
Located to the east of town off Murringo Road, Blackguard Gully is an important stop along the Gold Trail, being both one of the major Chinese camps on the goldfield, and an actual site of the riots. In January 1861 and again in June of the same year, Chinese miners were brutally expelled from Blackguard Gully. Evicted into the surrounding country with no equipment or provisions, the Chinese walked 20km south to seek refuge on James Roberts’s ‘Currawong’ property near Murrumburrah, passing by the site that would become the Chinese Tribute Gardens.
Located off Murringo Road, Young, NSW.
ST MARK’S CHURCH, CURRAWONG
The Roberts family built this beautiful bluestone Anglican Church 10km north-west of Murrumburrah in 1918 and 1919. The church sits adjacent to Currawong Station, where James Roberts sheltered 1274 Chinese miners during the Lambing Flat riots in 1861.
Located on Currawong Rd, 10km from Murrumburrah, NSW.
CHINESE CEMETERY, MURRUMBURRAH
An important stop along the Gold Trails is the Chinese section of the Murrumburrah town cemetery. The Chinese section sits in the south-east corner of cemetery, and is the burial site of at least 21 Chinese men aged from 39 to 85, who died between 1881 and 1925. Their occupations ranged from vegetable gardeners, cooks, and vegetables hawkers to storekeepers, miners, labourers, and skin buyers.
Located on Burley Griffin Way, Murrumburrah, NSW.
HARDEN-MURRUMBURRAH HISTORICAL MUSEUM
Housed within the 1912 School of Arts building, the Harden-Murrumburrah Historical Museum showcases an impressive collection of memorabilia and artefacts. The displays include local history of gold mining, agriculture, railways, the 1st Australian Light Horse regiment and domestic life, with a music room and a chemist’s shop exhibition just some of the interesting features.
Located at 298 Albury St, Murrumburrah, NSW.