The mosque is situated on the site of the former 'camel camp' where Afghan and Indian camel drivers loaded and unloaded their camel teams, from the earliest days of Broken Hill. It was constructed around 1891 as a place of worship for the followers of the Prophet Mohammed and is the only surviving mosque in Australia which was built by early cameleers.
The mosque's alcove points toward Mecca, and prayer rugs have been left by worshippers in appreciation of the mosque.
In 1968 the Broken Hill Historical Society renovated the building in recognition of a unique, but important phase in the development of transport in the West Darling District of New South Wales.
For worship, a key to the mosque can be obtained at the Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre (Corner of Blende and Bromide Streets). Visitors interested in a tour of the mosque, can call to arrange this.